A supplementary estimate of Rs. 17,213 million — about Rs. 17.2 billion — goes before Parliament this week to fund assistance for the public with electricity bills. The decision was taken at a meeting of the Committee on Parliamentary Business chaired by the Deputy Speaker, NewsFirst reported.

The money is reallocated, not new

The government does not intend to raise new money for the package. The funds come from provisions already allocated to line ministries for 2026 that have been identified as unlikely to be used before the end of the year.

Because it is a transfer rather than fresh spending, the estimate “will have no impact on the overall expenditure ceiling approved under the Appropriation Act, No. 23 of 2025, or on the Government’s maximum borrowing limit”, according to the notice published by Parliament. Appropriation Act No. 23 of 2025 is the statute authorising this year’s spending.

That framing matters for a government operating under an IMF programme, where the fiscal ceiling and the borrowing limit are the binding constraints. On Parliament’s account, the relief is funded by underspending elsewhere in the 2026 budget rather than by expanding it.

On the date, the accounts differ

NewsFirst reported that the estimate would be presented on Tuesday and approved on Wednesday. Parliament’s own notice places both the presentation and the approval on Wednesday, 23 September. The official parliamentary notice is the more authoritative of the two.

Tuesday’s order paper instead runs to Orders under the Petroleum Resources Act, followed by the second reading of the Tradezo Development Foundation (Incorporation) Bill.

Other business rescheduled

The sources name that second bill differently. NewsFirst calls it the Institute of Chartered Media Practitioners of Sri Lanka Bill; Parliament calls it the Sri Lanka Institute of Chartered Media Professionals Bill. It is the same bill. No reason is given for dropping it, and none of the sources says whether it returns.

A crowded constitutional week

The estimate lands in a week already heavy with constitutional business. The Speaker announced the Supreme Court’s determinations on the 22nd Amendment and the Judicature (Amendment) Bill to the House on Tuesday. The second reading debates on both are scheduled for Thursday and Friday, 24 and 25 September, sitting from 11.30 a.m. to 7.00 p.m. on each day.

Electricity tariffs and the cost of supply have been among the most politically sensitive economic questions of the past two years, and the estimate is the government’s most direct budgetary intervention on household bills so far this financial year.

Not reported

None of the sources says how the relief reaches consumers — whether as a tariff reduction, a direct credit against bills, a targeted subsidy for low-usage households, or a transfer to the Ceylon Electricity Board. Nor do they say which consumers qualify, what billing period is covered, whether it is one-off or recurring, or which ministries surrendered the provisions being moved.

Update, 23 September: approved

Parliament approved the estimate on Wednesday, the Daily Mirror reported. It is formally Supplementary Estimate No. 05 of 2026, taken under the Ministry of Energy — designations neither earlier account carried.

The report also fills in the step before the vote: the estimate was considered and approved by the Committee on Public Finance on Tuesday 22 September, the day before it reached the floor.

That settles the date discrepancy noted above. Parliament’s own notice was correct and NewsFirst’s account was not: presentation and approval both fell on Wednesday 23 September, not Tuesday and Wednesday respectively.

The questions listed under “Not reported” remain open. The Daily Mirror account of the approval repeats the reallocation mechanism and the Appropriation Act framing without saying how the relief reaches consumers, who qualifies, or which ministries surrendered the provisions.

Sources